(Last Updated On: December 1, 2023)
Surpassing the 50-employee mark is a huge achievement for your Massachusetts company. But it’s also a key time to revisit your policies as employment laws that did not previously apply to your business now come into play. Four laws to closely consider include the FMLA, the ACA, the SNLA, and the Domestic Violence Leave Act.
1. Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
The FMLA is a federal mandate that allows eligible employees of covered employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical reasons. For MA employers, this means that if you have 50 or more employees, you must provide up to 12 weeks of leave within a 12-month period for events such as the birth of a child, adoption, personal or family illness, or military family leave. This law was created to allow employees to take necessary time off without fear of losing their jobs. This, in turn, promotes a supportive work environment where your staff are valued, their life changes are celebrated, and they are supported in difficult times.
2. Affordable Care Act (ACA)
When you reach the 50+ employee mark, the ACA requires you to offer health insurance that is affordable and provides a minimum level of coverage. Compliance is not just about avoiding penalties. Instead, it’s about contributing to the health and security of your workforce. By providing health insurance options for your team, you’re investing in your employees’ wellbeing; and your business will reap the potential rewards of reduced absenteeism and increased productivity.
3. Massachusetts’ Small Necessities Leave Act (SNLA)
The SNLA complements the FMLA by granting MA employees up to 24 hours of unpaid leave in a 12-month period for activities related to a child’s education or the care of a family member. From an employer standpoint, this means recognizing the importance of work-life balance and helping to facilitate this with your workers by honoring the provisions of SNLA. Your staff will appreciate a corporate environment that frees them to attend parent-teacher conferences or accompany an elderly relative to medical appointments without worrying about work conflicts.
4. Domestic Violence Leave Act
If an employee or their family member is a victim of abusive behavior, you are required to provide up to 15 days of leave in a 12-month period. The worker can use this leave for medical attention, legal proceedings, or obtaining victim services. As an MA employer, it’s vital to handle such situations with discretion and sympathy. Complying with this act helps create an atmosphere where your employees feel safe and supported when they most need it.
Stay in the Know While You Grow with Rodman
Rodman Employment Law is here to increase your understanding of the evolving legal landscape as your business continues to grow. We’re passionate about keeping you informed so you can focus your attention and energy on where it should be — your business. Contact us if you have any questions about legal compliance as your internal team continues to expand here in Massachusetts.